Wally. K. Maskeill

In 1972 Wally Maskeill was appointed to replace the retiring president, ‘Harry’ Milner and he immediately bought a certain speculative and entrepreneurial flare to the role.  This direction was facilitated by the association of a number of successful businessmen with the administration of the club.

1977 heralded a decade of stability both on and off the field at Claremont.  Graham Moss coached the team for the full ten years and Wal Maskeill , Gerry Atherden and Dick Jeffrey occupied the posts of President, general manager and treasurer for most of the period.  It was a decade of relative success with one premiership, playing in 2 more and playing in seven final series.

About this time Maskeill and some other Chairmen from clubs around Australia attended meetings chaired by John Elliott of Carlton to look at a National competition.  It was suggested the 2 clubs joining the competition from W.A. were Claremont and Swan Districts as they were the most financial clubs in W.A.  Unfortunately for this competition could eventuate,  the VFL, WAFL and the SANFL became aware of the proposed league  and the scheme was then aborted.

Maskeill vacated the President’s chair at the end of 1985 after 10 years in the chair and was replaced by Ian Moore.

President  1957 – 1970