Tassie Medal Winners- Les McClements

Mick Cronin, Peter Eakins and Ken MCaullay other winners in story

The highlight of ruckman Les McClements’ much decorated, 244-game senior football career came during the 1947 Australian championships when, on a North Hobart Oval turned into a veritable quagmire by incessant rain, he “threw a stout heart and a strong body into the fray”¹ in helping propel his Western Australian team mates to a famous four-point victory over the VFL. Having earlier displayed superlative form against both South Australia and New South Wales, McClements was considered a ‘shoe-in’ for the Tassie Medal as best player in the carnival, an honour he eventually shared with Canberra’s Bob Furler.