When Moss returned in 1977 as captain-coach, he gradually moulded one of the most individually talented teams in WAFL history with such players as Jim and Phil Krakouer, Ken Hunter, Wayne Blackwell, John Annear and Warren Ralph.  In 1981 they kicked an Australian record 3,352 points in 21 matches, and won their fifth flag over an inaccurate South Fremantle. Despite lacking the “enforcer” needed to win many flags under pressure, between 1979 and 1994.

Claremont Tigers 16.15 = 111  defeated  South Fremantle 12.24 =  96 at Subiaco 03/10/1981

Captain Coach Graham Moss    Simpson Medallist  Gary Shaw

Stephen Malaxos, Warren Ralph, Brett Farmer, Phil Krakouer, Graham Moss, Mark Watson, Gary Shaw, Wayne Blackwell, Darrel Panizza, Ray Smith, Michael Aitken, Noel Morton, Baden Harper, Gerald Betts, Tom Pearce, Barry Beecroft, Lindsay Kanther, Jim Krakouer

Malaxos  5 goals and Ralph and Blackwell 3 each