Team representing the Claremont-Cottesloe Football Club in initial season 1926

It was formed as the amateur Cottesloe Beach Football Club in 1906, and joined the peak amateur competition, the Western Australian Football Association the following year. The club dominated the WAFA from the outset, winning premierships from 1907–1910, and in 1908 it beat WAFL club  Subiaco in challenge match.

Applications by the club to join the WAFL were rejected for many years. In 1919, the Cottesloe Beach club merged with a consortium from Claremont which was also attempting to gain entry to the WAFL and had no contracted players, but claimed to have secured use of the Claremont Showgrounds as a home ground. In 1921, the club was admitted to the WAFL “B” Grade competition, as Claremont-Cottesloe, using the same blue and gold colours as the local swimming club. It was finally admitted to the senior league in 1926.

The inaugural captain-coach was former South Fremantle and Richmond player Norm McIntosh, who was the only player with senior experience. McIntosh’s young squad could only win one game in their first season.

Top Row: B. Allan, J. Bythell, W. Dingwall, A.E Clements (VP), N.C Russell (VP), J. Allan, C. Stewart, A. Newby, C. Ridley (Amb. Driver)

2nd Row: H. Morris (Trainer), A. Skinner, V. Woods, H. Church, F. Lemmon, J. Fogarty, J. Clements, P. Willox, R. Dover (Trainer)

3rd Row: A. Parker (Trainer), L. Howson, E.A. Lovegrove, M. Malone, S. Vincent, I. Clements, H. Thomson, I. Breen, G. Miller (Trainer)

Front: H. Myers (trainer), A. MacKay (President), P. Higgs, H.E. Hendy (VC), T. Brown, E.F. Cuffs (Sec.), H.Hayes (Treasurer)

Sitting:  A. Howson, T. Angove, G. Smith, A.Seward,