The Bernard ‘Kirwan’ Ward Daily News Award for the best journalist at The Daily News to be presented on an annual basis..

Photograph of the shield itself.

The Story behind the award and a photograph of Graham Moss the Coach of Claremont and Mrs. Helen Ward with the Bernard Kirwan Ward Prize.  Bernard had died March the previous year and was a long time Claremont supporter.

Some winners were Steve Perkin 1984, Maurice Carr 1985, Geoff Christian 1986, Robbie Burns 1987, Ray Wilson 1988